Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Three IWC partners finalists for Eureka Prizes

Three IWC partners were nominated finalists in various categories in the prestigious Eureka Science Awards 2010. The prize is presented annually by the Australian Museum. Award categories include fields of scientific research & innovation, science leadership, school science and science journalism & communication.

The prestigious Prize for Water Research and Innovation is awarded for research and innovation that has made or has the potential to make an outstanding contribution to the sustainable use and management of Australia's water resources.

Associate Professor Rebekah Brown  (Monash University) has pioneered research at the social and technical interface of urban water management. Her new perspective on how to address the community, organisational and institutional factors affecting transitions towards more sustainable practices can assist practitioners and policy-makers to develop more sustainable urban water futures. (Eureka: The Human Dimension of Sustainable Urban Water Management)

The Advanced Water Management Centre (The University of Queensland) is an internationally recognised centre of excellence in innovative water technology and management research, providing industry relevant and sustainable solutions for the Australian urban water cycle. (Eureka: Water Research and Innovation)

Third nominee in the Environmental Research category was the CReefs project. Dr Eva Abal, Chief Scientist at IWC, contributed to theCReefs project. CReefs has set a national benchmark for bringing Australian and international science, government and industry together to tackle big environmental issues – mapping the biodiversity of our coral reefs in the face of climate change and human-induced disturbance. CReefs research will inform policies on reef management and climate change by providing new survey and monitoring tools, the first baseline for coral reef biodiversity, and capacity building in taxonomy and biodiversity research. (Eureka: Environmental Research)

The judging criteria is based on innovation, relevance and communication. 

The emphasis is on the extent to which the research is genuinely original in its thinking, rigorous in its application and of practical benefit.

For more information and this year’s winners please visit the website.




IWC Masters Scholarships



Personal tools